OIF ESCAPE Challenge - 2021

Script Selection Announcements

Selected Scripts:

Syd Latimore ATOMIC
Zachary Tuttle The Stiletto’s Kiss
Keara Mix Soul Sword
Gregory Mohn After the Credits Roll
Righley Engelhardt The Not So Secret Life of Teenagers
Matt Scoville Time Change Diner
Candido Soto III Ax Soup
Emilio Roman Old Cuban
Jill Minton The Girl With the Flowers
Dale Metz To Catch a Faerie
John Silver Porch Pirate
Noah Camenker A Good Home
Florentina Kleiner No ID
Jeffery Herman The Ranger
Juan Pantoja The Black glove Murders
Chuck Fusca Garage Sale
Petra Tressler Always Believe
Gage Lynn The Trials and Tribulations of Meeting
David Kashner Killing Don Larson
Marc Lucia Amor Regem
Angeliz Bruno Covington
Samantha Burton Brooke Fauver Sól and Máni
Rex Seaton Throne of God
Joe Boi Raveena’s Revenge
Arlene Lagos Table Dance
Kelly Weaver Trials and Tribulations
Norma Jean Lipert Date Night
Justin Rios The Man Remembered As Toby
Bethany Brandt So, I Guess I’m a Superhero
Angelina Zagonenko The perfect stranger
Nattalia Ortiz Lunar Tides
Brandon Cortes The Future’s Love Letter To The Past
Ashlyn McCain Timepiece
Lucas Piety Littering Ends Lives
Lorenzo Simpson RING
Amy Kole No Horror Movie
Jacob Massaro Thee Guilty!
Wes Imlay Henry Tucker’s Big Adventure
Cole Durhamyou A Look In The Mirror
Jay Bogdanowitsch Family Traditions
Davidson Pereira Meet Me in the Middle
Erik Helsen Operation Ten From Deep Space
Kevin James Bond Eldorado
Escape Challenge Film Deadline


Bring us to another era, another reality, or just make us laugh and forget our worries!
“Retro”, Fantasy or Comedy are the category themes for this Challenge.

In stepping it up this round, we’re limiting the film run-times to eight minutes. For some newer members in the group this may seem a more challenging exercise, but it forces filmmakers and writers to focus more on the “meat” of the story. Avoid “fluff” that may disenchant the audience and use the action for greater engagement.

Retro – Bring us back to another time, where we escape the present; with story, wardrobe, era props, cinematography, etc.
Fantasy – Bring us to another realm, where we escape this reality; with story, wardrobe, special effects, new surroundings, cinematography, etc.
Comedy – Bring us to a mindset where we escape our heavy thoughts and lift our spirits with laughter.
Link to submission page will be posted closer to the deadline.

– Award Categories

  • Best Picture, Best Actor, Best Actress, Best Supporting Actor, Best Supporting Actress, Best Music, Best Director, Best Cinematographer, Best Editor, Best Original Story, Best Sound, Best Set Design, Best Hair/MUA.
  • Certificate Awards: Challenge specific, Audience Awards, Honorable Mentions, Special F/X, Best Short for each City.

Submit an engaging original. Include a memorable story with scenes and characters to thrill the audience at the premiere.

– An official OIF Script-to-Screen Challenge.


  • Submission deadline for scripts: February 20, 2021 
  • Complete film must be submitted by May 3rd 2021 @ 11:59PM
  • Please practice safe filming.  We recommend all cast and crew take a FREE certificate course here:  https://www.easy-lms.com/safe-sets-covid-19-level-a-english/course-50731
  • Choose one of the following genres: “Retro” (Era/Period), Fantasy or Comedy.  
  • Keep it clean, max rating of  PG-13.  Limit cursing, No nudity, gore and blood are okay.  Limited profanity allowed where useful for the story line. 
  • Keep maximum script page count to ~8 pages 
  • Maximum total film run-time (including credits but NOT required slates) is 8 minutes.
  • If your script was selected you have a secured screening spot at the event and your cast and crew are eligible for awards as long as the final film qualifies and is submitted by the deadline.
  • Films not received by the deadline will not be eligible.
  • If your script is selected you are expected to post updates to the OIF group using these tags:
    #yourproductionname #OIF #oifchallenge 
  • Your film may NOT be shown elsewhere prior to the OIF Challenge screening date. 
  • Standard Terms and Conditions apply and will be posted on the submission form.

Recap of some rules meant to provide more opportunities and fairer chance at the awards ceremony:

  • Same actor can only be in a total of 3 films as a lead or supporting lead role with a max of 2 leads,  excluding extra roles.
  • Director and/or writer is limited to 1 film submission per Challenge.

Here is a link to the full guidelines: CLICK HERE


  • REWRITE – leave the script for a couple of days then come back to read it with a fresh mind, you have time, don’t rush or send the first draft.
  • GET FEEDBACK  – Let someone else advise if it made sense to them. We have a poll with 50+ people who are willing to give that feedback, reach out and/or consider participating in the pre-challenge table read workshop. (will be posted soon)
  • Get to the point fast, answer the question “what are we following here” as soon as you can so your script has a good pace, keep the audience engagedprecautions

Welcome to the second OIF Florida Inter-City Short Film Challenge, hosted by the Orlando Independent Filmmakers Group.

Submit your complete OIF Escape film below.

Before you submit your complete film

See guidelines here: https://oifstudio.com/film-submission-guidelines/

    OIF Film Submission Form

    Your Name (First and Last)

    First-time Filmmaker? noyes

    Your Email

    Film Title:

    RUN TIME Minutes: Seconds:



    Your Role in the Production:

    Private link to the film for viewing online:
    (Please provide an unlisted link on a streaming service [YouTube or Vimeo]. If part of a Challenge, this link will be provided to the judges)
    If using Vimeo, you are allowed to password-protect the file and provide that here.

    Password if required:

    Private link to download the film file (Provide a file of MP4 using wetransfer, drop box etc.):
    If this is being submitted for a Challenge, be sure to follow the required specs posted in the Challenge rules) Be sure to name your zip file and MP4 file so we can identify your film title (partial title name suggested, no spaces in file and Folder name.

    File Location Password, if required:

    By submitting content via this page, I confirm that I have read and agreed to the submission guidelines.
    (please check this box to accept and continue)

    The name of your production and your name will be listed as an official entrant once qualified.

    Your privacy is important to us. Your email address will not be shared with any party not directly affiliated with OIF.